10242017Headline:

San Luis Obispo, California

HomeCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo

Email Nigel Whitehead Nigel Whitehead on LinkedIn Nigel Whitehead on Twitter Nigel Whitehead on Facebook
Nigel Whitehead
Nigel Whitehead
Contributor •

Kids and the Law

Comments Off

Curfew? Drugs and Alcohol? Driving? School? If you have children and have every had a legal question concerning their rights, or your obligations, the State Bar of California has an excellent free resource for you called “Kids and the Law – An A-Z Guide for Parents” You can download the pamphlet free from the State Bar web site.

Did you know, for example, that if a child under 18 – or his companion – causes an automobile accident while drunk the parents may be guilty of a misdemeanor if they provided, or aided the minor in getting the alcohol? Did you know that all children under 18 must wear a helmet when riding a bike? Or that you must be 16 to operate a motorized scooter?

The rules for new drivers are different than when we got our licence. Did you know that for the first 12 months a new driver cannot drive with a person in the car who is under 20 years-old unless there is also a person in the car who is over 25 years-old? Or that a new driver cannot drive at all between 11:00 pm and 5:00 am?

There a lot of rules that we need to know as parents. I encourage you to take a look at this free pamphlet.